Parts of the vagina

Vagina Anatomy: External And Internal Parts

Read about the different parts of the vagina, their functions, and where you can find them.

The parts that form the female genitalia are not known by everyone. If you have any doubts about this particular topic, here you have a list of each part of the vagina, where you can find them and their functions. Learn about the vagina anatomy, the internal and external parts

7 external parts of the vagina

It is common for people to talk about the 'vagina' to refer to the female genitalia as a whole, both internal and external. However,  all of the external female sexual anatomy is actually called 'vulva,' and these are the parts of it. To make it easier to understand, we are going to begin with the parts of the vulva that are located outwards, and we will continue with the parts of the vagina that are more inside of the body.



1. Mons pubis

Located under the umbilicus, we find the mons pubis or veneris, or just 'pubis.' It is a small (not very pronounced) inverted triangle-shaped elevation of the upper part of the vulva. In general, it is covered in pubic hair, although nowadays some women decide to depilate this erogenous zone. As we are talking about it, and although it is not considered one of the crucial parts of the female sexual pleasure, the truth is that the mons pubis could be touched to stimulate a woman sexually. 


2. Labia majora

The labia cover the part of the external vagina, its opening, so their main function is basically to protect. The labia majora is a fleshy tissue zone, thicker than the internal ones, smooth or rough texture depending on the person, pink or darkened and with pubic hair.


In general, they are usually bigger than the labia minora, which we will talk about later on, although this can vary, as some people can have bigger labia minora. Whatever the case may be, the labia open and fill un with blood during sexual stimulation. 


3. Clitoris

The button of female pleasure, the longed-for treasure for many men and women, the crucial part for the female orgasm, the clitoris. This part of the vulva is made up of the glans, frenulum, and clitoral hood (in the outside) and the body, crura, and roots (in the internal part of the vagina).


The part that emerges from this organ is in the opening of the vulva, half hidden by the labia majora when the woman is not aroused. The labia minora begin in the lower outer part of the clitoris (glans). Although we only see a tiny spot that emerges, actually, the clitoris is a complex structure that forms one of the parts of the inside vagina and with the only implication of achieving feminine pleasure. Like the penis, the clitoris also erects. 


4. Labia minora

As we have previously said,  the labia minora are below the labia majora, they start from the clitoris (frenulum), and they branch off to go all the way down the vulva to the bottom of the entrance of the vagina so that they also contribute to its protection. However, as they are somehow the "door" to the internal vaginal cavity where the penis is inserted during penetration, the minor labia swell and lubricate to allow the insertion of the penis into the vagina. 


5. Urethra

This tube has the same name for both women and men. The urethra (or 'urethral opening') begins in the bladder and runs through the woman's inside to the vulva, just above the vagina. This is  where urine is expelled.


6. U-spot

This is one of the least known female pleasure spots. It is located below the end of the urethra, and slightly above the entrance to the vagina. To access it, the labia must be opened.


7. Vaginal opening

It is the part of the vagina that leads to the outside, where the penis, fingers or sex toys are inserted. From here, the 'vagina,' strictly speaking, begins.


8 internal parts of the vagina

After having seen the names of the parts of the vulva, now we are going to talk about 8 vagina parts located inside the woman's body. 


Un hombre tocando el culo a una mujer en una escena íntima en blanco y negro
Discover the different parts of the vagina and their functions | PixaBay

1. Skene's and Bartholin's glands

The lubrication of the walls of the vagina occurs due to the secretion of a fluid produced by the Bartholin's glands, located near the vaginal opening, when the woman begins to be sexually stimulated. If the woman ejaculates during the orgasm, the Skene's glands secrete a liquid that is expelled to the outside, similar to the homologous female prostate.


2. Vagina

The 'vagina' is the tube that goes from the vulva to the cervix. It's a double-function muscular cavity, as it is where the penis is inserted in the sexual act, from where the babies come out during labor, and from where the blood comes out during the menstrual cycle every month. Nowadays, people also insert tampons or menstrual cups. To make penetration more comfortable, it is necessary for the vagina to be lubricated and dilated, so that there is no pain. 


3. Hymen

The hymen is a membranous fold that covers a part of the vagina, before reaching the cervix. Generally,  the hymen is torn during the woman's first sexual act and is lost forever, although some are left without it being preadolescents or adolescents after some sudden movement opening the legs or practicing some sport.


4. G-spot

The G-spot is also called the Gräfenberg spot.  Although the experts don't agree whether this spot is a specific part of the vagina or an entire area of extreme sensitivity for women, it is known to be a vital point for achieving orgasms.


5. Cervix

It is the separation between the end of the vagina and the uterus.  It is in charge of allowing the entrance of the male sperm, so there is fertilization, and also for the expulsion of menstruation. Another essential function of this part of the vagina is its dilation to allow the baby to come out during labor. 


6. Uterus

It is also known as 'womb.' The fetus adheres on the walls of this inverted pear-shaped organ, covered by a layer of sticky mucous membrane (endometrium), during the months of pregnancy to begin its development. When sexual arousal is produced, the lower part of the uterus expands upwards (in the direction of the stomach), so that the rest of the parts of the vagina also expand, getting it ready for penetration. 


7. Fallopian tubes

They are a pair of tubes, located one at each side of the uterus,  through where the sperm travels until they get to their final goal, the uterus that has been detached from the ovary. If it is fertilized, it will descend to the uterus.


8. Ovaries

They are located on the extremes of the fallopian tubes. They are two glands that produce female hormones (estrogen and, in less quantity than men, testosterone; apart from others) and ovules. Once the sexual maturity is reached, an ovule will free itself from the ovaries and, if it is not fertilized, it will be expelled along with the blood from the menstrual cycle. This process will last a woman's entire life, until she reaches climacteric or menopause, which is when the ovaries stop producing these reproductive cells.